Dutch holidaymakers do not have to fear that they will not be allowed to enter Belgium or will be quarantined despite a valid corona certificate due to the high corona infection rate in their region. The Belgian government has published a ministerial decision stating that only travelers from a high-risk area outside the 27 EU countries plus the four Schengen countries Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland risk an entry ban. A spokeswoman confirmed that the decision came into effect on Wednesday.

Holidaymakers who come from a 'red' or 'dark red' colored EU or Schengen country (22 EU countries plus the above four) and who have been there in the previous fourteen days are welcome in Belgium. As long as they can show they are fully vaccinated (plus two weeks) or have recovered from Covid-19, or can provide a negative PCR test less than 72 hours old. This is possible, for example, by taking the European Digital Corona Certificate with you.

Anyone who cannot demonstrate all this must take a PCR test on arrival, quarantine for ten days and do another PCR test on the seventh day.

Also, all EU citizens who stay in Belgium for more than 48 hours before arrival must complete a Passenger Location Form. The Belgian corona measures apply to everyone over the age of 12.

Also read: Problems surrounding waterways are mapped out

Print Friendly, PDF & Email