DVDP width=

Truck driver Jelmer Stoker from Haskerhorne has won the NK Safest Driver 2022. At the TT Circuit in Assen, the Frisian was recently the strongest of 20 finalists. Jelger Miedema (Kreileroord) and Danny Henskens (Berghem) took second and third place. According to the jury, Stoker was constantly aware of his surroundings, the tranquility itself and executed the final assignments perfectly. "I did not expect it. Actually, I'm just speechless. This is a great honour,” said Stoker, professional driver at Kivits Drunen. After five tests, only three finalists remained. On the final course, agility was coupled with safety. Stoker stayed ahead of his competitors in that area.

The NK was the highlight of the TVM Awards, the name of the safety program of TVM insurance. The main objective of the TVM Awards is to create more awareness for safe driving among all road users and thus to contribute to transport and road safety in the Netherlands. From the hands of Michel Verwoest, CEO of TVM insurance, Stoker received the TVM Award that belongs to the NK Safest Driver. In addition to the Dutch Safest Driver Championship, 6 other TVM Awards were presented to a professional driver (Ridder) and transport companies. The TVM Award for Safe Transport, CSR, Innovation, Achievement in the sector and Sustainability are prizes where, in addition to a jury, the public could also have its say.


The TVM Award Ridder 2021 was presented to Kevin van der Velde from Damwâld. Earlier this year, the truck driver of transport company A. Hak put his truck across the carriageway on the A32 to help a victim of an accident. This prevented worse suffering.

Safe Transport

Transport company Schenk Tanktransport from Papendrecht won the TVM Award for Safe Transport. Ewout Mol, QHSSE Manager at Schenk Tanktransport, received the TVM Award from jury chairman Henrik de Leeuw, director of JobTrans. Schenk Tanktransport won the prize because the company clearly puts safety at the heart of its business operations.


Transport company Rijser Transport from Purmerend won the TVM Award CSR. Ron Rijser, director of Rijser Transport, received the TVM Award from jury chairman Charles Engelaar, Director Marketing Communications at Volvo Trucks Netherlands. Rijser Transport won the prize because the company offers underprivileged young people a place in the labor market with tailor-made solutions.


Transport company VSDV Distribution from Zwaagdijk won the TVM Award Innovation. Rober van Straalen, director of VSDV Distribution, received the TVM Award from jury chairman Rob Stomphorst, spokesperson for Safe Traffic Netherlands. VSDV Distribution won the prize because the company combines the entire chain of clients, suppliers and recipients for the transport flows to enter the city safely and efficiently with a maximum load factor.

Industry performance

Transport company Cornelissen from Nijmegen won the TVM Innovation Award. Berrie van Eldik, financial director of Cornelissen, received the TVM Award from jury chairman Menno Mekes, Manager Mobility Center Sector Institute Transport and Logistics. Cornelissen won the prize because the company is committed to solving the driver shortage and improving the image of the driver profession. The 'pink drivers' campaign is an example of this.


Transport company Kivits Drunen from Waalwijk won the TVM Sustainability Award. Jim Visschers, CFO Kivits Logistics Group, received the TVM Award from jury chairman Paul van der Burgt, manager at Van Eijck Groep. Kivits Drunen won the prize because the company is constantly looking for opportunities to make its business activities more sustainable, and there is also an active focus on social sustainability.

De TVM Awards is an initiative of TVM insurance with the support of nine partners involved. The partners are: Volvo Trucks Netherlands, JobTrans, Continental Benelux, Van Eijck Group, Sector Institute Transport and Logistics, Veilig Verkeer Nederland, Bumper, ANWB and Eye Wish.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email